Planning the School Year: Choosing Curriculum for My 7-Year-Old

With the arrival of my twins in May of 2011, I knew the 2011-2012 school year was going to be a challenge to say the least. Not only would two babies keep me hopping, but I also have a somewhat challenging 3-year-old. I knew I’d have to make some curriculum changes in order to keep up with school throughout the year.

I also determined that I’d lighten my 7-year-old son’s load if either he or I needed it. He’s been working beyond his grade level, so slowing things down certainly wouldn’t hurt him. Up until this school year we had been following Veritas Press curriculum recommendations. I’ve been very impressed with quality and comprehensiveness of VP’s curriculum. This school year we deviated some from their recommendations.

The following list inventories what we’ve been doing this school year.

Literature

Veritas Press recommended books for 3rd grade literature plus some of their literature guides

History

Veritas Press Self Paced History: New Testament, Greece, and Rome

Bible

Veritas Press Bible: Judges – Kings

Latin

Visual Latin

Supplements: Lingua Latina per se Illustrata, Pars I: Familia Romana and I Speak Latin

Composition

Excellence in Writing: Student Writing Intensive DVD Course – Level A

English

Fix it! Grammar and Editing Made Easy with the Classics

Memory Time

Homemade “memory box” with flashcards

Spelling

Excellence in Spelling: The Phonetic Zoo – Course A

Math

Math 4: A Teaching Textbook

Supplements: Xtramath.org and Times Tales DVD

My aim in my curriculum choices was twofold 1) to provide my son with a quality, comprehensive education that would challenge him and 2) at the same time allow him to do some independent work while freeing me up to care for my infants and spend some time with my 3-year-old.

In the coming weeks I’ll be reviewing each piece of curriculum to let you know what I’ve liked, what I’m not so keen on, and why. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Planning the School Year: Choosing Curriculum for My 7-Year-Old

  1. Pingback: Dreading Teaching Multiplication & Division Facts? Have no Fear! | Intoxicated on Life

  2. Pingback: Comprehensive, Interactive, and FUN History Curriculum (Review) | Intoxicated on Life

  3. Pingback: Affordable and Contextual Grammar Program: Fix-It (Curriculum Review) | Intoxicated on Life

Leave a Reply

