Healthy Chocolate Candy aka Cocoa Crack

I could extol the many virtues of coconut oil, but alas I shall leave that for another blog post. One of our new favorite uses of coconut oil is making “cocoa crack.” The whole family loves this candy, especially my 3-year-old guy Crazy Cameron. There are many recipes for cocoa crack floating around online, but I haven’t seen any quite like this one. One thing you will notice different about my recipe is the addition of coconut flour. I find most cocoa crack to have a very oily mouth-feel and I enjoy the mouth feel of this recipe much better. I hope you enjoy and let me know how yours turns out if you try it!

Ingredients:

Directions:

If you have granulated xylitol like I do, begin by putting it in a food processor or coffee grinder and whiz it around for a minute or two until the xylitol is powdered. It will dissolve SO much easier if you don’t skip this step.

Next place your coconut oil in a saucepan and heat over medium-high heat until it is liquid.

Add your xylitol and stevia, continuing to warm until the sweetners are dissolved. Be careful not to boil.

Add the cacao powder and coconut flour and stir until disolved in the mixture and well combined.

Finally, pour your chocolate in some type of silicone tray and place in freezer until solid. I’ve used other types of pans, but the candies don’t pop out near as clean and nicely as if you use silicone! I use ice cube trays like these: Tovolo Ice Cube Tray.

After the candies have hardened (it doesn’t take long), pop them out of  the tray, place in zip lock baggie, and store them in the refrigerator or freezer. You might consider hiding them too if you don’t want you husband and kids to devour them!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Candy aka Cocoa Crack

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss and Other Benefits of Coconut Oil | Intoxicated on Life

  2. Pingback: Giveaway! Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil | Intoxicated on Life

Leave a Reply

