Healthy Homemade Mayonnaise

I think I finally did it. I found a winner! I’ve been trying to make a homemade mayonnaise that tastes just like Hellmann’s, or at least similar to Hellmann’s.

So, why not just open a jar of Hellmann’s? Why bother with all of this experimentation in the kitchen? Three reasons: Hellmann’s has (1) soybean oil, (2) sugar, and (3) nutrient deficient factory farmed eggs. YUCK. I don’t want those nasty ingredients in my body, or my kids bodies either!

You see, I had tried a few different mayo recipes with no success. I have tried using extra virgin olive oil. Blech. While I like olive oil in some things, I didn’t like olive oil tasting mayo. I didn’t try coconut oil for two reasons: coconuty tasting mayo didn’t sound good, and since coconut oil is solid at room temp I was afraid refrigerated as mayonnaise it would end up solid as a rock. I also tried making bacon grease mayo, because who doesn’t love bacon? Bacon into mayonnaise sounded like a match made in heaven, but it was too greasy and just didn’t taste right to me. My seven-year-old, Bradley, didn’t care for any of these recipes either, and he is a mayonnaise connoisseur.

I decided recently to try using my MCT oil to make mayonnaise. I decided it was a good candidate because it’s flavorless and exceptionally healthy! Did you miss my post on all the health benefits of MCT oil? Go check it out!

Ingredients:

2 eggs (preferably fresh eggs from pastured chickens)

1 tablespoon of white vinegar

1 teaspoon of sea salt

1 teaspoon of dry mustard

1/4 teaspoon of Cayanne pepper

1 packet of SweetLeaf Stevia

2 1/2 cups of MCT oil

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients, except for the oil, together in a food processor or stand mixer. When well combined, begin to add the oil, very very slowly until the mixture begins to emulsify at which point you may begin to add the oil in a steady but slow stream. That’s it!

If you would like to make lacto-fermented mayonnaise, which keeps for longer in the refrigerator, just add a couple teaspoons of whey and let your mayonnaise sit on the counter for a few hours before refrigerating.

If you wonder why mine is so yellow, it’s because I used awesome farm fresh eggs with dark yellow yolks that I get from a very kind family at church.

The Verdict

Bradley LOVES it! He says, “It’s better than store bought Mom!” After we finished making it, he devoured pieces of lettuce dipped in the mayonnaise.

What does Mom think? It’s good. It doesn’t taste just like Hellmann’s, but it’s a very good substitute. It is not quite as thick as other types of mayonnaise that I’ve made or as thick as store bought mayonnaise. I would guess this is because the MCT oil is a thin oil. It’s thick enough for our purposes though! It certainly beats store bough mayonnaise leaps and bounds on the health front! I think we’ll keep making our mayonnaise this way.

Let me know if you try it and how you like it! 

One thought on “Healthy Homemade Mayonnaise

  1. Pingback: Creamy Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe | Intoxicated on Life

Leave a Reply

