New York Style Cheesecake – Low-Carb & Gluten-Free

Cheesecake is one of my favorite desserts, and thankfully it was a fairly simple dessert to turn low-carb and gluten-free. I needed to completely change the crust, but the only thing I needed to do to change the filling was alter the sweeteners.

(You will notice in my pictures that the cheesecake looks yellow. Don’t worry, your monitor doesn’t need to be adjusted. The cheesecake was yellow from all of the beautiful, nutritious farm-fresh eggs that I used in this recipe.) 

Crust Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour

3 tablespoons flaxseed meal

4 tablespoons coconut flour

1/4 cup xylitol

1/2 cup butter

Cheesecake Ingredients:

2 1/2 pounds cream cheese

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups xylitol

1/2 teaspoon stevia powder (I prefer the pure NuNaturals brand)

1/3 cup sour cream

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 large egg yolks

6 large whole eggs

Directions:

  • Cut cream cheese into 1 inch chunks and let stand at room temp for 45 minutes.
  • Mix together all ingredients for the crust and press into the bottom of a 10 inch springform pan.
  • Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
  • For each of the steps below beat the ingredients in a large bowl on medium speed for 1 minute then scrape the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula.
    • Start with cream cheese
    • Add salt and half of xylitol
    • Add remainder of xylitol and stevia
    • Add sour cream, lemon juice, and vanilla
    • Add egg yolks
    • Add 2 eggs
    • Add 2 more eggs
    • Add last 2 eggs
  • Pour into springform pan and bake for 10 minutes
  • Reduce oven temperature to 200 degrees and bake for 1 1/2 hours.
  • Do not open the oven door to check on cheesecake!
  • After you remove the cheesecake from the oven, run a knife between the cake and pan.

  • Cool on the countertop for 3 hours.
  • Wrap tightly with Saran wrap and refrigerate overnight.

I’m excited to try making more variations of my healthy cheesecakes and sharing my recipes in the future! Let me know if you try this recipe or a variation and how it turns out.

4 thoughts on “New York Style Cheesecake – Low-Carb & Gluten-Free

  1. Thank you so much for sharing a gluten-free cheesecake recipe. Cheesecake is one of my all-time favourite desserts and I have been dreaming about a cheesecake that I can eat since being advised to go on a gluten free diet/lifestyle. I tried a recipe a while ago that was an absolute flop! I will definitely be trying this one soon. Could you tell me if you have ever tried this recipe with a more conventional sweetener such as organic cane sugar or honey – I would prefer not to buy a sweetener just to try one recipe and the cane sugar and honey are staples in our home so I would prefer to use them. Would I need to adjust any of the other ingredients, would I simply be substituting my sweetener of choice equally for the sweetener you have used?

    Sorry for the long comment but cheesecake is serious business! 🙂

  2. You’re right! Cheesecake is serious business and luckily very easy to change transform recipes to be low carb and gluten free. You can most certainly use cane sugar in place of the sweeteners. In the crust substitute 1/4 cup of sugar for the xylitol. In the. Cheesecake substitute 1 1/2 cups of suga for the xylitol and stevia. Let me know how it works out for you! I love this super moist and dense cheesecake. I might have to make one soon 🙂

    • Thanks for the reply! I will try my very best to remember to come back and let you know how mine turned out. 🙂

  3. Wow! A cheesecake that is low-carb? I can’t wait to try it. Thanks so much for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday!” 🙂 Many blessings, Lisa

Leave a Reply

