Singing Stars: How Modern Astronomy is Helping Us Hear Celestial Worship Music

Did you know that stars not only shine, but they also sing?

At the 2011 Desiring God National Conference, Louie Giglio gave a stirring message called “The Global God Who Gives the Great Commission.” During this message Louie brings the message of Psalm 148 to life in a way I’ve never seen before.

Below is an excerpt from the middle of the message. It’s about 24 minutes long, but well worth watching all the way through.

I taught an astronomy class this year through our homeschool co-op, and near the end of the course I played this sermon to my students. Some of them were noticeably moved by it suddenly realizing that when they sing songs to God, they are literally joining a galactic symphony of voices.

Louie’s message is one more reason why the study of astronomy is, for me, a way I worship God. I’m always so amazed by the bigness of the universe every time I look up. I love what Louie said in this message: “If [astronomers] knew the universe’s primary function wasn’t to house humanity, but its primary function was to magnify the Creator, they would know it’s not too big at all.”

4 thoughts on “Singing Stars: How Modern Astronomy is Helping Us Hear Celestial Worship Music

  1. Thanks for the post, IOL! Great sermon–quite moving for me, too.

    It is His poetry:
    The heavens declare the glory of God,
    and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
    Day to day pours out speech,
    and night to night reveals knowledge (Psalm 19, 1,2).

    -dbl

    • Thanks, Donald! I love that passage. Do you know CS Lewis said of Psalm 19, “I take this to be the greatest poem in the Psalter and one of the greatest lyrics in the world”? I agree.

  2. What a terrific post! I have always loved astronomy, and this is such a beautiful message. Visiting your blog from SAST – thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

