Lower-Carb, Gluten-Free Baked Oatmeal (amped up with protein)

As I’ve mentioned in prior post’s, I’m trying to move my family to a lower-carb Paleo type of diet. What does that mean? Basically it means we’ve cut sugar, wheat, processed foods, and most grains…at least while we’re at home. The kids still eat some of these things when they’re at friends’ houses, visiting grandparents, or cousins. But I feel we’re really making some good strides in moving in the correct direction.

This is a recipe based on one on the Healthy Indulgences blog. I made some very minor tweeks. You should check out the blog, Lauren is a very talented cook and has some fantastic recipes!

Ingredients

1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon pure stevia extract
1/3 cup xylitol
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup water
1 cup 4% cottage cheese
2 large eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon blackstrap molasses
. . . .

Directions:

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl except the xylitol.

Place all wet ingredients and xylitol in a food processor. Process until smooth.

Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients and let sit for 1 hour, or overnight.

Butter an 8×8″ glass dish (I usually double the recipe and bake in a 9×13″ dish). Bake 45-55 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Let cool for 1 hour and serve. After the bars are cool, you may store them in the refrigerator wrapped in plastic wrap. You can reheat the bars in the microwave, but we enjoy them cold out of the fridge!

A Note to My Paleo Friends

So, those of you who are reading this familiar with Paleo diets are probably protesting, “Oat’s aren’t Paleo!” Yes, I know, and I personally try not to eat them.

As I said, we’re moving our family towards a more paleo diet. We’ve been making gradual changes and this recipe has been a great transitional breakfast food for my boys. My boys miss their toast and sugary cereal. They get tired of eggs, bacon, and sausage in the mornings. This is a special morning treat I’ve been occasionally making as we move the boys toward healthier eating. Eventually, this recipe will have to become extinct in our family, but for now we’re enjoying it.

If you are looking for a Paleo recipe, this isn’t it. If you are trying to eat low-carb to lose weight (like me), you should probably skip out on this one, too, because depending on how large your serving size is, each piece will probably run you between 10-15 net carbs.

I’ll admit, I’ve snuck some bites, and it’s a very tasty recipe. No wonder the kids like it! But if you’re simply looking for a lower-carb higher-protein alternative to a typically high-carb recipe, you need to check this one out.

2 thoughts on “Lower-Carb, Gluten-Free Baked Oatmeal (amped up with protein)

  1. I have transitioned our family away from packaged/processed foods. It has been wonderful to do so! I love that we have less sugar and more homemade food! Knowing exactly what is in what we are eating is important to me! Thanks for linking up at Simply Helping Him! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

