Panda Boy: Challenge Accepted (Review)

If you are in the mood for an old-school 2D platform game and didn’t get enough of the London Olympics, then Panda Boy: Challenge Accepted might be for you. It is pretty much Sonic the Hedgehog meets Alex Kidd.

A little boy dressed in a panda costume is running from China to London carrying an eternal flame to restore the recently extinguished Olympic flame. He needs to jump over a bunch of obstacles using colorful rings (strategically placed by you, the player) to swing over these obstacles.

My kids like it; that much I can say. On the iPad the controls are extremely easy to use: just tap the screen where you want the ring to appear, and if you time it right, Panda Boy will hurtle himself higher and higher over bottomless pits of doom. When he reaches the end of each level, Panda Boy lands on a poll and slides down (Mario-style) to the bottom. Ring. Rinse. Repeat. Over and over and over.

Did I like Panda Boy? Not really, but then I believe my patience for these sorts of games has sort of run out for me. My 11-year-old alter ego liked it, but he doesn’t come out to play much these days.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a Reply

